The modern macOS makes it simple to add encryption to any mounted volume. The password you set when you encrypt a volume has to be entered each time it’s mounted, including after restarting your Mac. You can opt to store the password when you enter it by checking Remember in Keychain.
What if you change your mind? You can remove the password, but you have to dig for it.
Read more at Macworld.com
