Site icon

Apple switches off Back to My Mac remote access for all users

As promised, now that July has arrived, Apple has not just removed Back to My Mac from the current Mojave and Catalina, it has disabled it for all versions of macOS.

Months after Apple first announced that it was dropping Back to My Mac, the service was officially switched off on July 1, 2019. Introduced back in 2007 as a major part of Mac OS X Leopard, it was a way for users to remotely access their Macs across the internet.

The ability to share the screen of a Mac across the same network remains, and Apple does still offer a way to control Macs over the internet with the Apple Remote Desktop app. However, while Apple recommends that users switch to this administration tool, it costs $80, hasn’t been updated for two years, and is generally unreliable.

Read more at AppleInsider.com

Exit mobile version